A Slow Start

Three turtles swimming in a pond.

I’d love to say that my Camp NaNo novel is going swimmingly, but sadly, I cannot. It’s off to a very, very slow start. I haven’t even broken the 10k mark, yet.

Back in November, I was way ahead of my word count at this point. At the end of day twelve, I had 29,614 words, well ahead of the 20k target for NaNo’s 50k goal and right on track for my self-declared goal of 80k. Yes, I was unemployed back then, but that made less difference than you’d think. I averaged 2k a day in November; on previous years when I was working, I’d average 3.5k on the days I wrote and had multiple 5k days. I couldn’t write on the days I worked: I was too fried to do anything but watch some TV until my nerves settled down enough that I could sleep. On the first day I had off after two or three days working, all I wanted to do was sit with my feet up. The weather was nice, so I’d go on my balcony with my cats and just write, only taking breaks to refill my drink, raid the fridge, or use the bathroom. When inspiration struck, I’d type furiously away and time would dissolve around me. When inspiration lagged, I’d goof around online for a bit, then slog through until inspiration struck again.

I haven’t figured out the difference between now and two Novembers ago. This past week, I worked evenings. It should have been more conducive to writing as I had a couple of hours before work to kill and wasn’t as tired afterwards. I didn’t feel like writing, though, and spent most of my spare time goofing off. This week, I’m starting working nights again. I’ve been transitioning the past few nights, staying up later and later. I could use that time for writing, right? I didn’t. I kept myself busy doing other things until 2 or 3 am, the time that used to be bedtime, then my brain would shut itself down and I couldn’t think any more. I watched a lot of mindless drivel on YouTube the past couple of days. I’m not proud.

I can’t seem to find the motivation I usually have in November. Is it because it’s too hot to think? Can’t be, that’s only been the past couple of days. Is it because this is a rather difficult book to write, both in subject and in using exclusively first person? Probably not. I did have one day this month where I “found my groove” and wrote over 2k in just a couple of hours. And then I didn’t write anything else for two days. Is it because I’m too distracted with RPing on the NaNo forums, something I’ve never done before and only started doing this past December? Not likely. I’ve excused myself from that before. They’re games. They don’t matter. I have no issues pausing them to take care of real life. Still, something’s just off. Something’s wrong, and I can’t put my finger on it. I wish I knew what!

I admit that I feel like a failure. I’ve let myself down. I’ve also let you, my readers, down because I don’t have anything remotely worth editing into a post, yet. I’ll get there soon, I know I will. I just need to find some motivation lying around so I can get on it. I don’t know if I’ll reach 50k by the end of June, but I will finish this story one way or another.

So, bear with me. It’s a slow start, but as they saying goes, “Once begun is half done”.

About S. Cat Sullivan

Author, nurse, painter, cat lover

Posted on June 12, 2012, in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It takes me multiple NaNo events to finish a novel. Summer is not the best time to write. The heat is a fair point, but also the sunshine calling us outdoors (ok, maybe not calling me, I have Irish skin that burns far too easily). Did you know that the first ever NaNo was actually in July and it was moved because people are so busy in the summer?

A penny for your thoughts:

