Posted in News

Brains are funny things

Model of a brain cut in half. Photo by Robina Weermeijer on Unsplash

Brains are funny things. They work when they want to and throw fits when they don’t. They sometimes work halfway or sideways or sporadically. Mine’s been on the fritz lately. 

I’ve mentioned this before – recently, evenly – but I struggle with depression and anxiety. I take antidepressants but nothing for the anxiety, mainly because the anxiety seems to be tied to the depression: controlling the depression usually takes care of the anxiety. Because of this whole COVID situation and living way out in the country when I’m not cut out for it, my depression has gotten worse recently. Cue trying to adjust medications. I take Cymbalta and Welbutrin, and they work for the most part. I already take the max dose of Welbutrin, so we’ve been playing with my Cymbalta. Unfortunately, Cymbalta makes it hard for me to sleep at night, so I take it in the morning. Cue not sleeping at all on an increased dosage! I’m taking Unisom for now, but I requested a consult on my meds. Unfortunately, in the meantime, I’ve been running short on spoons, motivation, and darns to give. I was actually scrounging hard to give a darn about anything the other day, even about things that usually go against my nature not to care about. 

All that to say, writing that’s not schoolwork hasn’t been a priority lately. I’m working on Vanessa’s first book, but even that’s on the back burner for now. I’ve still been thinking about what to put here and on the Tales site, just not too hard. I probably should rehash what I’ve already posted in the past, update it to the way things are now, and I eventually will. I still don’t want to tease too much before I get Kim’s first book where it’s halfway ready for alpha readers, but it seems to be the rewrite that will never end. In the meantime, I’m open to suggestions!

Author:

Author, nurse, cat lover

A penny for your thoughts: